Rhubarb torte means summer has finally arrived

With summer finally here, one of the ingredients I cannot wait to bake with is rhubarb. You know summer has arrived when rhubarb is plentiful in the neighborhood gardens and farmers’ markets.  I love the beautiful pink stalks and find it’s tartness refreshing.

My favorite rhubarb recipe is naturally one from my mother.  It has a buttery shortbread crust with an almost custard-like filling.  I like to add whatever fresh berries I happen to have on hand to squeeze in as much fresh summer fruit as possible!

To top the torte, I prefer homemade ginger-infused whipped cream (traditional whipped cream with the addition of ground ginger) or vanilla bean ice cream.

Rhubarb Torte

Crust:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 5 Tbsp powdered sugar

Filling:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 4 cups chopped rhubarb (or combination or rhubarb and berries)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  1. Heat oven to 350
  2. For the crust, blend all ingredients as for pie crust (dough will be coarse and dry)
  3. Pat into 9X11 baking pan
  4. Bake for 12-15 minutes until lightly browned
  5. Meanwhile, prepare filling:  beat eggs and mix in all other ingredients except fruit and nuts
  6. Fold in fruit and nuts
  7. Pour filling on top of baked crust and bake 30-35 minutes until lightly browned

Crust ingredients

Use pastry blender

Crust lightly browned

Beat eggs, mix in other filling ingredients

Pour filling on top of baked crust

Mmmmm....the tastes of summer

This entry was posted in Dessert, Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rhubarb torte means summer has finally arrived

  1. Yay! Welcome to the blog world Merc!

  2. Lauren says:

    Fun Blog Mercedes! I’m glad you decided to make one. Rhubarb is my favorite too, I wish it was in season all year long. I made this bar (minus the strawberries) last week for bible study- yum! Awesome job with the pictures, I heard that it’s difficult for food bloggers, yours look great!
    -Lauren

  3. Louise says:

    Your description made my mouth water! Beautiful pictures too. Louise

Did I Satisfy Your Sweet Tooth?

